baskets button

Leon Bradley Scholarship Program

The Leon Bradley Scholarship Program is established to encourage more minorities or persons of color to enter the teaching profession. AASPA believes that it is of benefit for all students to experience diversity among the teachers who serve as role models for our students. Thus, the American Association of School Personnel Administrators (AASPA) will annually award two scholarships to assist a minority college student seeking their initial teaching certification and/or endorsement. One scholarship will be for $2000 granted for the student’s final year, which includes student teaching. The second scholarship will be for $1000 granted for a minority paraprofessional career-changer in his/her final year of teacher preparation. Checks will be sent directly to the college or university to verify that the applicant is a full-time student and is pursuing a prescribed course of study for initial teacher certification and/or endorsement before applying any money to the costs.

These scholarships will be awarded to a student graduating in May or August 2014.

* Any monies not used for tuition can be applied to any other university-based expenses the student may incur.

  • Application materials will be posted on the AASPA website on February 1, 2013 and must be submitted by mail, fax or electronically to AASPA by April 12, 2013.
  • A letter from the Dean of Education or designated representative, a letter from a character reference and a transcript must be uploaded no later than the application deadline, April 12, 2013.

Applicant must reside in these states/provinces or be currently matriculating at a college or university within these states/provinces: Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas.

General Criteria – applicants must meet each criterion.

  • Have an overall GPA of 3.0 or better.
  • Be a high school graduate or equivalent status.
  • Submit a letter from the Dean of Education or designated representative that the applicant has:
    • Attained at least junior standing as defined by the institution.
    • Met the required grade point average at the time of application to be eligible for admittance into the teacher education program.
    • Successfully completed all entrance examinations as required by the State and the institution.
  • Be a minority or person of color in one of the following categories:
    • American Indian (Native American) or Alaskan Native (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of North America and who maintains cultural identification through tribal affiliation or community recognition.)
    • Asian or Pacific Islander (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, the Indian Subcontinent or the Pacific Islands. This area includes, for example, China, Japan, Korea, the Philippine Islands and Samoa.)
    • Black (A person, not of Hispanic origin, who has origin in any of the black racial groups of the original peoples of Africa.)
    • Hispanic (A person, regardless of race, who is of Spanish culture or origin. This includes, for example, persons from Mexico, Central or South America, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic and Cuba.)

Weighted Criteria – applicants do not have to meet each criterion.

  • Work experience that has been applied to college expenses.
  • Other scholarship or financial aid support.
  • Seeking initial certification and/or endorsement in a state-identified critical area.

Maintenance Criteria – recipient must meet all requirements.

  • Verified enrollment as a full-time student (as defined by the university) during the semesters receiving the scholarship.
  • Maintain an overall GPA of 3.0 or better each semester.
  • Continue to be enrolled in a teacher education program and be in good standing with the university as verified by a letter from the Dean of Education or designated representative.

NOTE: Maintenance Criteria verification will be scheduled between the scholarship recipient and the career services representative at the appropriate time.

Previous Recipients

  • 2012: Angela Bowman, Cleveland State University
  • 2011: Carmen Vega Rivera, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs; Edith Salvador, Los Angeles Technical Trade College
  • 2010: Kamika Strickland, North Carolina A&T; Brandon Gantt, Newberry College
  • 2009: Chanelle Wilson, Rowan University; Javier Salamanca, City College
  • 2008:  Dawn Marie Krein, United Tribes Technical College; Zuleima Ardila, Portland State University
  • 2007:  Amanda Tifft, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • 2006:  Lillian Prince, University of Akron
  • 2005:  Damian Armijo, University of New Mexico
  • 2004:  Malisa Cariño, University of Arizona

Use the following links to apply: 

  • Leon Bradley Scholarship Award Online Application (This link is under construction)
    Click in open positions to view scholarship application